Lessons from Songs

Music has always touched me, and trying to pick songs for the youth retreat has put me back in the “music mode.” These are some of the songs that have touched me, and why.

One of my dear friends shared the song “Let It All Out” by Relient K with me while I was struggling with several things in my life. Today I was mulling over it, and thinking about the lyrics. I love the chorus:

“and you said I know that this will hurt
but if I don’t break your heart then things will just get worse
If the burden seems too much to bear
Remember
the end will justify the pain it took to get us there”

 How true this is. It’s like the saying “no pain, no gain.” At times, life hurts. Sometimes it seems easiest to curl up in a ball and die. But I can always reach to the hope that God is growing me through the pain.

Another one of the songs I was thinking over this week, was “It Is Well” by Horatio G. Spafford. Yes, this is a hymn. But this was written after Mr. Spafford’s son had died of an illness, he had lost all his property, and as he was viewing where his daughters had drowned after the ship they were traveling on had sunk. The first verse says:

“When peace like a river attendeth my way,
when sorrows like sea billows roll,
whatever my lot,
Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.”

I have prayed those last 3 lines many times. WHATEVER God puts in my path, whether great things or horrid ones, I need to have peace and know God has a plan.

One more song for today, “Fellow Traveler” by Ginny Owens. Again, its chorus has a few lines which catch me every time:

“Fellow traveler, let me take you,
to a place where I find rest.
Fellow seeker, let me show you,
where I find true happiness.
Fellow begger, I have good news,
I know where there is bread.”

What a beautiful way to explain witnessing. I heard someone once say sharing Jesus with someone is, “one beggar showing another beggar where to find bread.”

March 4, 2008. Lessons from God.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

