And Here I thought I was perfect….

 

Funny how just when you think that God’s taught you all that you can learn–you learn some more. And it’s usually a lesson on how little you know. (who says God doesn’t have a sense of humor!?!?!)

As I mentioned earlier, I’m co-leading worship for our youth retreat in…8 days. A few facts about me:

  • I’m a born performer
  • I love to sing
  • I love to worship
  • I love to be the center of attention
  • I get bristled when someone steals “my” spotlight

So this Tuesday, some of us youth leaders called an impromptu youth group (since we were supposed to have the week off for spring break, and our youth pastor and a bunch of youth were in Montana on the spring service trip). I was just recovering from being horrendously sick, and so I wasn’t quite all “with it”. But I went and kinda just sat in my spot most of the evening.

Well our youth pastor usually leads worship. He has an amazing heart for worship, and it’s one of the best times ever. But since he was in Montana with the team, one of our youth leaders led with a friend. I’ll give away the ending before I finish the story. I learned that night that I still need to work on realizing that worship isn’t about who is “most amazing” but about giving God ALL the “amazing”.

One of my pet peeves is when this particular youth leader invites this particular friend, because the friend turns the time of worship into a show. She turns her mike up really loud and sings showily (if that’s a word) and harmonizes loudly the entire time. It happened on this Tuesday more than normal, and I caught myself focusing on how upset I was with the guest who was showing off, and noticed that I was trying to outshine her, out sing her, and out harmonize. Yeesh. Silly me.

So fortunately, I was able to focus the last 2 songs, and put my focus back on God. Now, whenever I pick up my music binder to practice songs for retreat, I always make sure to pray and keep my focus in the right place.

Oh, and I’d really love it if you’d keep me, the rest of the worship team, and the whole retreat in your prayers…I just found out that the showy guest will be coming on the retreat.

As I prepare spiritually to lead our youth group before the Lord, I’m planning on blogging here more often. So I’ll be back.

April 10, 2008. Tags: , , . Church, Lessons from God.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

