The Portland Conference

NOTE: this is just my general recap, and what I learned. To learn more about the Rebelution visit their site

Well guyzos, I was able to go to the Portland Rebelution Conference. It was…amazing!!!

I’ve read all the posts on the Rebelution blog. I have finished half of the book. I have been following the Rebelution for a while, so I wasn’t sure how much I’d get out of the Conference. I was able to take 4 other girls with me, most of which had never heard about the Rebelution until I shared about it at youth group. They came away inspired by what they heard….and so did I.

At first I thought “I’ve already been doing hard things, I’m good.” I’m the youngest shift leader at work, and I’m the one being trained as asst. manager. I play for the worship team. I read my Bible, pray, and do Awana. I’m one of the kids who’s told how great they are for what’s easy for them to do. That’s when I realized that I need to do what’s hard for ME.

The girls (Mary, Cortney, Katarina, and Shalliah) and I are going to de-brief at youth group next week, and hopefully we’ll be able to stir up excitement for our entire youth group to do hard things. We’re going to dig out the secret Rebelutionaries like Brett said, and get them involved, too. A lot more kids wanted to come, but weren’t able to make it, so hopefully they’ll catch the vision.

The whole do hard things idea brought a new idea back into my thoughts that I had previously put out because it seems “too hard.” Actually, for a few good weeks, it’s kept coming back, but I’ve kept banishing it because “I can’t” or “the other path is easier”. eek talk about conviction. What is it?

For years when people ask me what I want to be when I grow up, I’d say “a CIA agent”. πŸ˜€ I knew that I would never be a good CIA agent since I’m not fluent in languages other than English, so eventually I switched to the FBI. I thought “being an undercover agent would be the ultimate acting job. Your life depends on the fact you can persuade your enemies you are who you aren’t.” But I also knew that I couldn’t do that because I need people too much, and being an undercover agent would require a person to be so alone. But the FBI and criminal investigation work still interested me waaay back in my brain corners.

However. To be the “other side” of the FBI agent (Special Agent or SA) you have to go through intense physical training. Let’s just say….I work at an ice cream store, and I’m not an athlete. I’m not overweight, but I’m just…normal. Not super in-shape either. That’s what scared me about the FBI. The physical testing is intense. I could deal with the pressure, but the phyiscal side scared me. But the idea once again popped into my head last night, and so I’ve been pursuing the idea, now. I know that God will help me through whatever I need to do if it’s His will for me to be a SA. So I’ve opened that door and only God knows if I’ll get to travel into it or not…

So anyway, here are the pictures we got from the conference. We had a 5-hour drive, so we had a lot of time on our hands. πŸ˜› And yes, I’m picking the craziest, weirdest, most unattractive pictures to introduce you to who went with me… πŸ˜€

Shalliah

Cortney

Katarina

Mary

Four of us at the conference

Β 

Sporting our new “Do Hard Things” t-shirts. I got the blue one you see here, and also the red one that says “Rebel with a 1 Timothy 4:12 cause”.

Listening to Alex and Brett

We all got to meet Alex. I also got to meet Brett, but didn’t get a picture with him. *tear tear*

May 5, 2008. Lessons from God.

2 Comments

  1. Erik B. replied:

    I’m sure the conference was great! I really hope I can attend one next year. The book and was fantastic; I finished it last week.

    I like the name of your blog. It really caught my eye.

    Erik

  2. Anna replied:

    Thanks Erik! I hope you don’t mind if I link to you on my blog. I’m looking forward to reading what you have to say πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

