Not of This World

So I’ve started the chapter in Do Hard Things about peer pressure and giving in to the world’s standards and push and pull.

Why Is It So Hard?

I realized that we’re not fighting against flesh and blood, but Satan. You see, Satan likes to creep into our lives by taking on the form of good things (friends, teachers, books, etc). And he’s not going to be obvious about it. I’ve heard someone say that the lies we most easily believe are the ones that are almost true.

How Do We Combat Peer Pressure?

Well the first and most obvious is to choose your friends carefully. But what about that urge to “fit in”? You have to think about what group you’re trying to fit in to and why. If it’s a godly group of people who are honestly seeking God, and you admire them, then go for it! But if it’s the popular gossips who backstab and flirt, eh, I would hold off. The Bible is full of warnings against those kinds of people–just read Proverbs.

The Summary

Have I ever fallen into peer pressure to fit in? Yes. Will I do it again in the future? Yes. But with God’s help, I’ll be able to see that I’m doing wrong and hold off from pursuing the path I went down. Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve found that whenever I start something that goes against God’s laws, a verse, book, speaker, or friend will say something or do something that will knock me over the head with a big “duh, I shouldn’t have been doing that.”

God is faithful.

May 7, 2008. Lessons from God.

One Comment

  1. cj replied:

    I am reading “Do Hard Things” too, it is an awesome book.
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

