The final hour

I’m down to the final hour of our 24-hour fast. I can say it’s been a really interesting experience. Yesterday it was really hard not to cave in and just eat something. I was “starving” for the first few hours. But I filled my time with school and youth group, and instead of eating dinner I spent time in the Word and journaling. At first fasting was painful and just an exercise in self-control. But as it went on, every time I felt hungry I’d think about why I’m doing it, and how this whole thing is an exercise in focusing on God instead of self. It’s really been a great experience, and like I said before–something I’d totally recommend trying at least once. I probably won’t have the guts to do it again in the near future, but I’m glad I did it.

Now I get to wait the final 50 minutes before I can eat my lunch…I already decided what it’s going to be… 😀

May 21, 2008. Lessons from God.

2 Comments

  1. cj replied:

    Yay! I’m so glad you made it!

    -cj

  2. cj replied:

    Stop torturing me with those pictures!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

