Alabama

A couple of days ago I had a bombshell dropped on me. Not literally. I’m starting my senior year (which is still really strange to think about…) and all those things that you look forward to and dream about from the time you know what a senior is, well all that’s starting and I was really excited.

Then I came home from work one evening to find my dad talking about this job he phone interviewed for. Cool. He’s been trying to get a new job for a while, but my parents already told me they wouldn’t actually move out of the area until I graduated, so I thought nothing of it. At dinner, my dad talked all about the job and then said, “but it means we’d have to move.” Oh. Where? “To Alabama.”

………………………………………………………………………

I’m sorry to anyone who lives in Alabama, but from the center of the technological, fashionable, upscale part of the nation, Alabama seems like the middle of nowhere to me. Obviously I was crushed. I can’t imagine moving at the very beginning of my senior year to a whole new neighborhood, with a whole new church, and a whole lack of friends, in a whole new state across the nation. All this, and I’ve never moved in my life. Not even within this state.

So needless to say I’m kinda shocked and taken aback by the possiblilty of moving the summer before my long-awaited senior year. I could tell you that I’m just trusting God and will be totally fine with moving. But that’s not the truth. I’m devestated by the thought, and it will take A LOT of getting used to if it comes to be. Right now we’re waiting to find out more info. They’re planning on flying my dad in sometime soon to do the face to face interview. We’ll know more then.

The day after this bombshell dropped on me, God plopped this song into my lap. It’s called “Surrender” by BarlowGirl. The words couldn’t portray more accurately how I feel, but I’m still working on the “surrendering” part….

 Lyrics go something like this:

“My hands hold safely to my dreams
Clutching so tightly not one has fallen
So many years I’ve shaped each one
Reflecting my heart, showing who I am.
And now you’re asking me to show
What I’m holding oh so tightly?
Can’t open my hands can’t let go
Does it matter? Should I show you?
Or can’t you let me go?

Surrender. Surrender.
You whisper gently.
You say I can be free,
I know but can’t you see,
My dreams are me. My dreams are me.

You say you have a plan for me,
That you want the best for my life.
Told me the world has yet to see
What you can do with one that’s committed to your call.
I know of course what I should do,
That I can’t hold these dreams forever.
But if I give them all to you,
Will you take them away for ever?
Or can I dream again?”

 

June 14, 2008. Lessons from God.

One Comment

  1. c.a. Marks replied:

    I bet you are coming to Huntsville aren’t you? If so that is a good thing, we aren’t your typical south. We have great technology here and lots of stuff to do. Don’t worry, we even have indoor plumbing now a days. 😉

    You’ll be fine. I moved here in 1991 and couldn’t imagine living anywhere else, well, maybe New York!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

